Black & White Pictures and Monochrome Photography

This is one post where my aim is to allow the pictures to do most of the talking. It is also an opportunity to appreciate black & white (or monochrome) art, pictures and photography.

Those that follow me either on my personal or blog Instagram would have noticed me posting a number of black & white pictures. It was nothing I decided to do at random but challenged by a friend of mine.  Those that know me know I’d take up that challenge without a second thought. The thing is, I am in my own peaceful element when it comes to imagery, art or at a gallery.

Pictures and images with colour, although beautiful can be distracting! Without colour, we are given the chance to study other details of the image, such as dimensions, shapes, lines and textures.

Have you notice the beauty it conveys when a black & white photograph of a black woman or man has been taken?

There is also a sense of throwback when taking certain black & white pictures – but then that’s how imagery all started off.

This week:

Take one picture in black & white. Post it on Instagram and appreciate its simplicity and it detail. (Tag me on Instagram and feature them below).

 

Typing to you soon.

Damilola