Glimpse of Africa Utopia… as a Trader.

15th Saturday 2017

I was so excited about going to this event. It was a chance to finally familiarise myself with more Black Owned Pop Up Kitchens and EAT! Plus Holiday shop! 👀

Unfortunately, I forgot myself and realise I was going out there to support Dorcas and her brand! So munching for three hours and more was definitely out of the question.

So once again, as a random lifestyle blogger – I have decided to dedicate this short-ish post to Dorcas and the traders who made the event successful and seriously colourful.

I wish I had time to eye detail all the displays but I was there to work and support Dorcas’ dream.

20170715_105205[1]

As a fresh trader for the day, I noticed it was a brilliant setting to network with similar businesses as well as to browse and mentally brainstorm further ideas for ones own brand – however this is almost impossible if trader sets out to an event solo.

Or am I wrong?

Once customers came in from early noon, it was literally “us” the traders against the customer’s attention against the products we were selling. And the customers kept coming. Some returning to buy more pins or cards.

20170715_131452

Eating between each customer and trying to act all professional – it was hard work.

We should appreciate traders more, engage in conversations when buying from them, offer free meals and try to be a helping hand if know a friend who trades within the black owned business industry.

As I was there – Dorcas did make good use of the event to browse other stores – so I guess in my eyes it was a win-win for her.

As for me I absolutely loved the experienced. Surrounded by entertainers and good dancers. The music was live. Old school afrobeat.

Highlights…😍

There were too many to say the least but the three main ones were…

@MamaJerk 🌯

Jerk Chicken Wrap. Okay, maybe there was nothing unique about this dish. But the taste was good enough to stop me in my tracks I had to tell Dorcas – we need to sit down and experience this wrap. Despite the long queues and working solo – this man was still able to put a smile on our faces whilst we were waiting.

20170715_204725[1]

 

Studio Nelle. 💛

Neighbouring store to Dorcascreates was Chanelle Antoinette with her BEAUTI-FUL products handmade with reclaimed leather. Her display was so simple but stood out. My eyes were on the choker and I got the choker for £30 (which I will review in September). She also sells wallets, pins and phone covers so check her out.

20170715_120755

Beautiful display, beautiful lady, beautiful aura and beautiful products – Just beautiful.

Dorcascreates Customers 🤓😁

There were a frequent moments Dorcas saw her customers carrying their already purchased bags or pins. The expression on Dorcas’s face was priceless.

20170715_124937

So proud of my big sister.

Twitter handles of people I got to interact with: @dorcascreates@Mamasjerk@StudioNelle@victoria_nambi@bakedbybenji and her twin @bonita_ivie.