DorcasCreates

Hiya,

Exciting times! So here is my first post relating to black owned business. Let me know what you think of this post. Feedback will also be brilliant too. 🙂

I have a feeling I am going to need a good setting and camera for this task but we will see in the near future.

As I have first contact with the beautiful Dorcas, I have put her on the spot with a few questions to make this post a tad bit more interesting.

DorcasCreates

Melanin + Thoughtfulness + Love

Founder: Dorcas Magbadelo

dorcascreates may not be the first to have identified a gap in the market when it comes to selling greeting cards with black characters. But she is definitely one of the first whose art prints comes with a statements (particularly in regards black women) and are designed on greeting cards, pins, and notebooks.

What captures me most about her artwork is the tremendous detail applied to her drawings, particularly within the garments worn by her melanin characters. I remember an occasion when I went to an exhibition where Dorcas’ art work was featuring; an attendee asked Dorcas “whether she had sown the pattern on the piece of paper”. Lol. Well maybe that’s an idea for her…

When focusing on her products, there is something for everyone. Pricing are reasonable considering the fact that her style of art is something that will keep you wanting to look at it time and time again. Delivery of products are on time and professionally packaged (some with an additional greeting card and sticker – which are so cute).

Favourite Purchases (so far)

Tosin Enamel Pin – Rose Gold -Ename at £7.50 (featured image)

I am an artist at heart (though I hardly practice) – so it’s easy for me to fall in love with art prints. However, when you start to see art designed to be pin….come on now! The image on the left (enamel rose gold pins) took it to a different level to the point that I was speechless. From an image that was from her imagination, transferred onto paper, adjusted on a special software I assume, to being designed to a beautiful pin. Selling for just £7.50 for now. It’s a pin that deserves to be placed on one of your best black/white – not everyday blazer.

Be Free – Black Art – Black Girl Magic – Black Excellence – Wall Art – A3 Poster – Black Artist – Black Woman – Afro Art – African at £20:00

Be Free - Black Art -Wall Art Poster A3 (£20)

Be Free – Black Art -Wall Art Poster A3 (£20)

Close up Art Print

Message on Print:

Your melanin is magical, Your kinky coils are graceful, You are softness and light, You are powerful and wise, You blossom in the quiet, You bloom in the night, Protect your peace, Caress your imperfections, Be still – be strong – be brave – be free.

 A stunning art print of an elegant woman – what caught my attention was the red earrings and the pattern of her garment. It a piece that should not be hidden in your home (unless gifted to a young daughter, niece ..female relative) as the print carries  words are a gentle reminder of how beautiful black is. Even with a statement of an image.


DSpotLight on Dorcas Creates.

What is the vision behind DorcasCreates?

 Primarily I want to create artwork that inspires Black Women to know that we have worth and value. I want my illustrations/products to involve feelings of hope, joy and positivity. 

What have you learnt about yourself/your business in 2016?

That I have worth. I think I spent way too much time initially being very meek and almost apologising for my work. It’s quite tricky when you’re first starting out; balancing how you want your work to be received and asking for rates that reflect that, but also knowing that you’ve got room to grow. I would also get upset if a commission fell through, and would try and do too much, because I felt like I had to say yes to every job. It took me a while to understand that just because an opportunity comes your way doesn’t mean it’s right for you. Also there’s room for everyone to succeed on their own terms and at their own pace. There’s a huge pressure to achieve success quickly and also publicly; everyone must know what you’re doing 24/7 and if you’re not making big moves you’ve somehow failed at life. I let all that nonsense go in 2016 and now I’m happy to carry on at my pace and don’t feel like I need the validation of others to be happy with my work and how its being received. Comparison is definitely the thief of joy and it’s important to realise that there are no rules to success; everyone’s journey is unique and you have to be patient.

Tell us your personal favourite product/print and why?

My Black Hair Magic print is one of my favourite products just because it’s the most physical representation as who I am as a Black Woman. There’s so many different sides and facets to my personality; to all of our personalities and lives but the media only likes to show one side. In this print series I try and make room for everyone; the girl with big hair, the girl who’s a bit more punk; the nerdy girl; the funny girl; just to show that in all of iterations we’re beautiful. 

mockup-01-nd

What should we expect from you in 2017?

More work! I’d also like to collaborate more with other artists/brands. I’d love to do some international craft markets and go to more events within the UK. I just want to keep creating and for my work to continue growing this year.

Who is your favourite black female celebrity and why?

I really like Solange and Janelle Monae; just how they’ve managed to carve out careers on their own terms. I also love how they show solidarity and love towards other Black female creatives. I feel like there’s a horrible stereotype that Black girls/women hate each other and that’s definitely not been my experience these past 18 months with DorcasCreates. All of my opportunities, strongest supporters have come from or been Black Women and there’s something very beautiful about how we support and uplift one another.

Do you draw with music or without? What kind of music?

I usually draw with music; it helps me concentrate. I try and tailor the style of music to what I’m trying to draw/create. For example I have a spotify playlist called “Black Girl Magic” that I listen to a-lot; there’s a lot of Solange, Janelle Monae, King, Erykah Badu, Aaliyah and yes some Beyonce on that playlist. When I have a lot of orders I listen to either an Indie playlist or Rap – just something loud that I can dance around to whilst packing orders

If you could start Dorcascreates again, what would you do differently?

Have a proper plan of action, and research properly the types of products I could create and work/commissions that I could get. I spent way too much time in the beginning just going with the flow and not being intentional about my work and also about promoting myself. I’d also reach out to other artists/makers for advise a lot sooner. It’s quite easy to work in a bubble and shut people out; but isolating yourself is a surefire way to let your doubts and worries overshadow the work you’re producing. 

Putting aside your business, what is your main goal for next year?

To travel more within the UK and Europe and Asia and pick up random new skills. E.g. I’m a good cook; but I’d like to learn some Masterchef level skills (like how to Flambe stuff and make a souffle lol)


 

t: @dorcascreates

i: @dorcascreates

w: https://www.etsy.com/shop/dorcascreates


Writing to you next month for the next review. Can’t wait to hear from me, check out my primary faith blog www.testimoniesspeak.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

