Eyes Through Edinburgh, Scotland

 

20160723_195241_001.jpg

 

Introduction

Unfortunately, this post is not a mimic of other blogs where it displays pros and cons of holiday resorts…that’s hard work. This post (or shall I say category) is to remind myself how taking holidays (or even mini breaks) are important from time to time. Though there may be various factors which may restrict one from travelling ever so often,  it is an action that everyone should consider if possible. Travelling for me relieves stress, it opens my creative and adventurous side. It is an opportunity to see new places and explore different cultures.

Nigeria being an exception, I have been to two other countries (Portugal and Scotland) and each time I have regretted not writing a daily account of my experience so for now I am going to have to write my “feelings” and experiences from memory…Scotland being first as it was the most recent.

I hope you enjoy my travels post. Let me know how you found Edinburgh.

By God’s grace it will not be a year before visit another foreign land.

Eyes through Edinburgh, Scotland

(July 2016)

 

So how do I start this? I love Edinburgh and everything about it. The city comes with relaxed vibes during the day and social drinkers at night. Edinburgh at a view looks so peaceful and holds stunning structural buildings conveying the country’s history and meaning.

We repeatedly wore raincoats and trainers (I was worried whether my wig was going to fly in a moment) – despite all that, we still had fun. Went out every day and ate out every day. Came back relaxed – which was more than what I could have asked for.

Main Highlight: Arthur’s Seat (Holyrood Park).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Arthur’s Seat is an extinct volcano (251 meters high), it is said to be the soul of Edinburgh where you can view key attractions.

The thing is we already knew that we were going to walk a long distance to reach Arthur’s seat – we just didn’t mentally prepare for the climbing side of things. Our stopping point was when we met the sign”Danger – Beware of Fallen Rocks”.

It was an achievement and a half. We were still on flat surface when doubts came in and the thought of doing a 360 was a great idea; but we encouraged ourselves to go a little higher each step of the way. Stung by plants, pushed by winds and poured on by rain. We were pretty calm at times, other times terrified. I am pretty sure at some point I said “God, whatever sins I have committed – forgive me now” lol.

On a whole it was great and my friend and I have decided to take part in hiking.

My Scottish Obsession: Tartan Pattern.

The beautiful tartan pattern was seen everywhere in Edinburgh, from the tourist shops to the uniform trousers of the security guard. So for me to buy souvenirs with the tartan pattern was already a done deal.

According to Eric Hobsbaem, a British Marxist historian, the wearing of tartan is an invented tradition. Which he defines as:

mean a set of practices, normally governed by overtly or tacitly accepted rules and of a ritual or symbolic nature, which seek to inculcate certain values and norms of behaviour by repetition, which automatically implies continuity with the past.

The fabric was initially found on mummified bodies of Caucasians in Urumchi China back in 1200BC. The woven patterned was first confirmed in 1538 when James V ordered an outfit of “Hieland Tartane”.

Food: Haggis.

20160725_194326.jpg

Haggis

If not every day, I think it is important to try out a least once native dish whilst away. (I don’t really remember what I had in Portugal) but in Scotland it was Haggis and I actually enjoyed it. It was something I got quite tired of eating half way through but it really did compliment the salad.

The best dished served was the Salmon with potato. Lord have mercy!

I should have also taken a picture of the fish and chip…it was such a large portion that basically finished us off for the day.

Leave a Reply

